UKC Hunt Test Intorduction


What Is A Started Test?

The Started Hunt will have four tests. Two tests shall be marked water retrieves. Two tests will be marked land retrieves. The Started Hunting Retriever can participate in all four tests regardless of whether or not it passes each test.


What Is A Seasoned Test?

The Seasoned hunt will have five (5) tests. These five tests shall consist of at least the following: (1) a double marked land retrieve, (2) a double-marked water retrieve, (3) a walk-up, or tracking, or quartering test, (4) a blind land retrieve, and (5) a blind water retrieve. Part of the test must include a diversion. Failure of a hunting retriever to pass any of the hunting tests will not prevent the hunting retriever from participating in subsequent tests unless the Handler is unsafe in handling a gun. 


What Is A Finished Test?

The Finished Hunt will have at least four (4) tests. These four tests shall consist of the following: (1) a multiple marked water retrieve, (2) a multiple marked land retrieve (either or both the multiple marked water retrieve or the multiple marked land retrieve must include an honor), (3) a water blind retrieve, and (4) a land blind retrieve. These blinds may or may not be included in one of the required multiple marked retrieves.


What Is An Upland Test?

The Upland Hunt Test will be conducted according to the rules already established in this rule book for the Finished Hunting Retriever. Plus, the changes or additions to these rules which follow:
1. The Upland Game Test shall consist of a simulated walk-up hunt, a quartering test, and an optional tracking test. The Upland hunting dog must be steady to wing and shot. Honoring of another dog is required. During this test the dog will be required to locate and retrieve game, as the Judges shall direct.
2. Quartering. The dog hunts in a radius ideally 10 to 30 yards to the front of the Handler. The dog is required to be steady to wing and steady to shot. The dog should immediately return to the previous hunting range upon being called and/or whistle commanded by the Handler. The Handler will shoot the gun (popper), and the gunners may kill the bird. If the dog does not immediately return to the hunting area, the test is failed. The dog should be eager to hunt all available cover diligently and be under control. The intent of the quartering test is not to demonstrate running a pattern, but to demonstrate a natural tendency to hunt and be under control. In the Upland Game Test, quartering, tracking and walk-up can all be combined at the discretion of the Judges. Walk-up. A quiet, unobtrusive reminder to sit is acceptable as the bird flushes or is shot. Great care must be exercised by the Judges that this does not carry over to intimidation. Each Upland Gun Dog must be presented with a minimum of two (2) birds to “flush” in the quartering test.
Tracking. If the Judges use a drag scented path, it should not be less than forty (40) yards in length nor more than seventy-five (75) yards in length. It should also contain at least one distinguishable change in direction.


What Is A Grand?

The semiannual International Grand Hunts will be scheduled for five (5) days, but due to unforeseen circumstances, such as inclement weather, the tests may take longer to complete. The Grand Hunt Committee will make every effort to have the Hunt completed in (5) days. The Grand Hunt Committee will have the power to vary the number of Judges, divide the entry field and run test series simultaneously, and schedule the sequencing of each series accordingly.
The International Grand Hunt will consist of five (5) series of tests. The five series of tests shall consist of the following: Two (2) land series tests consisting of multiple marked land retrieves (either or both of these land series must include an honor and a diversion retrieve). Both land series tests must also include a blind retrieve.
There shall also be two (2) water series tests consisting of multiple marked water retrieves (either or both of these water series must include an honor and a diversion retrieve). Both water series tests must also include a blind retrieve.
The fifth and final test shall consist of an upland game and quartering test series. Failure of the hunting retriever to pass any of the five series tests will prevent it from participating in any subsequent series test.